One of My Most Touching Moments: Part 2 (Ephesians 6: 1-4)

EPHESIANS 6
“ONE OF MY MOST TOUCHING MOMENTS” happened yesterday for Father’s Day…

Getting a text from one of my children telling me,

“Happy Father’s Day, MOM!!!”

As a single mother, basically raising my children alone over the years, I can’t even describe the feeling that came over me…..but, I can tell you that tears flowed….

Tears of love for the love that my children and I have for each other…
Tears of hurt for their pain through all the years as their father failed to be the role-model that he should have been…
Tears of joy for the relationship that God has given me with my children…
Tears of thankfulness for our God that showed up to be the Father to my children when they were hurt by their earthly father….

There were many tears over the years as I walked this path from brokenness to wholeness.
There were many days of hurt and pain that my children endured because of their father…
They love their father…but he has failed to be a loving “dad” when he should have been.

Many men have “fathered children”, but it is a different story to be a “dad” to those children.

So, I can tell you that this melted my heart as a mother. However, I can also tell you that no child deserves to be mistreated by a parent. When this happens, a parent, whether the mom or the dad, is obviously failing to be the role-model that they were supposed to be.
EPHESIANS 6.1
Now, I ask each parent out there to rise up to the challenge to be the role-model to your children that God intended, building them up…not tearing them down!
Ephesian 6:1-4 NLT says:
“Children, obey your parents because you belong to the Lord, for this is the right thing to do. Honor your father and mother…. Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger by the way you treat them. Rather, bring them up with the discipline and instruction that comes from the Lord.”

So, the Bible tell us to honor our father and mother…but it also says to NOT PROVOKE our children by the way that we treat them.. Please evaluate the way that you treat your children…..
NO CHILD DESERVES TO BE ABUSED!!

6 thoughts on “One of My Most Touching Moments: Part 2 (Ephesians 6: 1-4)

  1. I am a single parent as well, i have 2 years old son, i’ts been just the two of us since June last year, thank you for sharing..GOD bless you

    • Thank you for sharing with me. I have been raising my children for a decade, so they are much older, I totally understand how hard it is to be a single parent. But, I can tell you that God is faithful as I have continued to pray over my children and I. God can protect our children 24/7 whereas we can’t. All we have to do is pray and raise them up with the instructions given to us. Blessings to you and I will be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

