Wounded Hearts and Their Fortress

Many are so wounded…
a fortress they have built.
Not of bricks and mortar…
but of pain, anger, or guilt.
Like a wall of stone…
completely surrounding a heart…
The wall must come down…
before true love can start.
Many of us who were wounded
have built a wall to survive…
But the time will come…
when it must come down to thrive.
For not only does the wall
protect things from getting in…
The wall also stops our hearts
from letting go for love to begin.
So how can a relationship develop
when blocked by pain and mistrust?
We have to free our hearts…
so tearing down the wall is a must.
Now this advice is for all…
who were hurt by others in our past.
We must take down our man-made walls…
  to allow relationships that will last.
  And trust God to be our Mighty Fortress…
for He has a plan for our life.
He will never leave us or deceive us…
so trust Him for your future and husband or wife.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2013

16 thoughts on “Wounded Hearts and Their Fortress

  1. I worked with a young man that described his psychic awakening and he said he’d previously felt as though he were trapped in a cylinder. It really gave me a chill because I got a mental flash of it – it was a psychic prison in my experience of it. God Bless.
    ~ Eric

    • Thanks Eric! I can understand what you are saying. I have built up these walls to protect my heart after being broken and I have also recently felt trapped in a tunnel with no escape, leaving my past behind but not yet seeing my future…a door to the past closed and the door to my future not open yet. I guess it could be like a cylinder. All we can do is keep walking and keep praying… the opening to our future will come in God’s timing as we give it all to Him… Thanks for the thought provoking comment. Blessing to you, my friend!

  2. So insightful, so true. Those walls are essential for a time, but suffocatingly fatal in the long run. But how can we cope without walls unless there is someone else we can trust to protect us? Thanks for pointing us back to God, our Safe Place and strong Defender.
    -messytheology

    • Thank you so much “messytheology”… I like your comment, “suffocatingly fatal in the long run.” So true. We all build these walls to survive our traumas but have to let them down eventually to move on. That’s where I am now… The walls have to come down and totally trust God to take care of me as I move forward… Thanks again and many blessings to you!!

  3. Very poignant poem! This is meaningful in building up relationships and above all acknowledging our Lord who is the greatest teacher of relationships. Thank you for sharing, Angel. 🙂

    • Thank you for your support. Yes, He is the greatest teacher of relationships! Many more of us need to trust Him for our futures instead of walking out of His will. That is where I made my first mistake but I know better now as I wait on Him for every step that I take. Thanks again and many blessings to you!!

  4. Pingback: A Message to the Wounded: Wounded Hearts and Their Fortress | The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

Leave a Reply

