Forgiveness and Thankfulness~~ Impossible in Abuse??

This is for the many who have been abused and struggle with forgiving those who have hurt them.  Forgiveness is not easy… and it does not happen overnight. It comes in layers over time as healing occurs.  It is a necessary part of healing and sets us free from the hurts of our past, helping us to walk freely into our futures. However, sometimes it takes divine intervention to help us to get to this point. Then we can thank the Lord for getting us through our struggles and using it and us to help others as we answer His call.

Forgiveness and thankfulness…
seem impossible when we’re abused.
How can we forgive and be thankful…
as we are harassed and misused?
How can we let go of the anger…
and the pain that builds up inside…
when we search for love and kindness…
or even a peaceful place to hide.
And how can we be thankful…
when someone abuses us…
experiencing their anger and abuse…
and hearing them cuss and fuss.
And I can share this with you…
for I have walked this path…
praying “Lord, help me to forgive…
those who treated me with wrath.”
Well, we are called to walk as Christ…
who was also harassed and abused.
And we need to realize we’re called…
and all we go through will be used.
So we forgive our abusers today…
for they know not what they do.
And we rise up to the calling…
that God has planned for me and you.
And we thank You Lord for “the cross”…
that we have had to bear.
For we know it’s for Your purposes…
even though it didn’t seem fair.
For we will eventually come to realize…
that this world is like a test…
to see if we will hold onto You…
and let go of all the rest.
For there is so much more…
than what’s in this world to see…
and it’s only through Your grace and mercy…
that forgiveness and thankfulness can truly come to be.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2015.

“Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” Ephesians 4:31-32

Thank You Lord….

27 thoughts on “Forgiveness and Thankfulness~~ Impossible in Abuse??

  1. I achieved forgiveness to someone I have spoken of before (my biological dad) two years ago and it was as though the world had been lifted off my shoulders. It took 20 years and endless prayers but I got there and it was beautiful. It didn’t matter what his response was. I didn’t do it for him. I did it for myself and God. God bless you sister!

    • Amen!! It seems humanly impossible to forgive those who horribly abuse us… but all things are possible with God. God bless you, my sister and thank you for the reblogs.

  2. It is not easy to be forgiving even after the abuse. Sometimes we lose sight of the things we have to be thankful for. God knows I have and sometimes struggle still. I try and remember the good but sometimes the devil piles it on so high we lose sight of it. It’s normal so people shouldn’t beat themselves up over it. Try instead posting something you see every morning before the day is even fully underway that reminds you of all the good. For me I see it every morning, a picture of my son and a picture before and after of my face and a picture of my wife Sarah. I also see it nightly before bed.

    There remind me to say thank you which starts my day off thankful and ends it on the same note. I’m still human, I still sometimes get blinded but with my reminders the blindness is never very long. So to those being abused, those left without hope and thankfulness, and those struggling to forgive. Set your reminders up so you’ll see them every morning and every night. It helps the heart.

    • Michelle, you are such an inspiration to many! What you have gone through has been so tragic but you have been able to forgive those who have hurt you and rise above your brokenness to a level of wholeness. Your advice is excellent! It reminds us to look at our blessings and hold onto them, instead of the wounds of our pasts. God heals the brokenhearted and binds up there wounds… and you are a prime example of his redemptive work in us when we turn to Him. May He continue to bless you, my sister!!

  3. For many, the only way to forgive is to get the physical, mental, and emotional inner healing first so that all areas of the abuse can be addressed and therefore,the anger, bitterness, loss, sorrow, and any other areas that are holding you back, can be healed and prepared for that next step which is forgiveness, and only when they are ready. I truly believe you are ready when you feel God’s peace and presence when the word forgiveness is used. And when it happens, you will know it, feel it, and be at total peace.

      • absolutely. I was also in the same boat as you. And because of that, my abuser repented, asked God for forgiveness and wants to follow the Lord. He said that he was miserable because of what he did and never had a good life after that until he made things right with God.

Leave a Reply

