Walking Away From Abuse

This is for the many victims of abuse who see the warning signs and wait around with promises that it won’t happen again. Abusers do not change (unless transformed by God). Walking away from those who abuse is the best thing that we can do for ourselves… for abuse only escalates. And I can tell you from experience that I am one of the many who wishes that I would have walked away at the very first warning sign.  None of us deserve to be abused in any way.

Walking away…
is needed some days…
when the abuse is enough…
and you seek better ways.
For emotional abuse…
just keeps tearing us down…
until we have had enough…
and our identity must be found.
For we lose ourselves…
in the pit of despair…
when self-worth is destroyed…
then we no longer care.
But we must walk away…
and take the abuse no more…
for we all deserve better…
than abuse hidden behind doors.
So please don’t wait and wait…

for abusers to change their way…
just walk out that door…
for tomorrow’s a new day.
For God has better plans for us…
than to be abused every day.
So just seek His guidance…
and let Him lead you away.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2015.

“Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church. He gave up his life for her.” Ephesians 5:25

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Dear Lord, only You see the multitude that are being victimized by those who abuse. I ask You to expose the abuse and set the victims free. Give them the strength and courage to walk away. Lead them away from the bondage that they are under and orchestrate their steps into a new future with You. Bring healing and restoration to all who have been abused and deliver even the abusers from the evil that hold them in bondage to this sin… in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

10 thoughts on “Walking Away From Abuse

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (8-27-2015) | My Daily Musing

  2. WOW…timely. He packed his things today, the church (counselor and pastor) advised him to leave as soon as possible and that we separate (legally with intent to divorce) but they don’t want us to focus on divorce, but putting hard work into getting healthy separately and see how that goes. I feel so free letting go of who I know him to be…I feel so free to say “I DON’T TRUST!” and that not trusting him is ok. There is no accusation of what he is or isn’t doing I just do not have the ability to trust him regardless. If he wants my heart he will have to go to the Lord and ask for it, because it no longer belongs to him. We’ve been living together for a month with no physical touch…and I am not the majority where sex isn’t important to me as a woman…it is very important to me. I cried out to the Lord and asked him to guard my heart and I believe with all my heart he is guarding my heart.
    My husband is leaving to stay with his friend tonight. Please pray for me and my kids…my kids are going to be broken hearted.

    • Praying for you all. I tried to read some of your postings but they require passwords. I understand all that you have gone through. Your children are probably more sensitive to the tension between you both than you realize. I pray for God’s Peace to fill your household. Many blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

