Children of a Narcissist Struggle

Children of a narcissist struggle…
as they have to learn on their own.
For they love both their parents…
but cringe when the anger’s shown.
They learn to walk on eggshells…
as they tip-toe around that parent…
trying not to trigger that response…
though the rising anger’s apparent.
And some parents have to remain quiet…
so as not to slander the other…
but that does not stop the narcissist…
as to follow the law they don’t bother.
And as our children get older…
and tend to move out on their own…
they often try to avoid that parent…
for they are tired of the anger shown.
And this I see of my children…
as they avoid their father’s wrath…
but all I can do is pray for them…
to not follow his narcissistic path.
And I wrote the following post…
as I heard my daughter cry…
“Why is he so mean to me!!!
  Mom, please tell me why???”
For she heard his rising anger…
as she spoke to him on the phone.
and that’s one reason she avoids him…
because of his abusive tone.

 Watching the Anger… Like a Boiling Teapot (Galatians 5 )

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2015.

Dear Lord, only You see the multitude of children who are hurting as they struggle with the abuses of a parent. You see their confusion and pain as they try to deal with narcissistic abuse at various ages. Please deliver these children from any abuse and break the cycle of abuse so that it will no longer continue through the generations. Bring healing and restoration to all of our children and change these narcissistic abusers so they will abuse no more… in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

20 thoughts on “Children of a Narcissist Struggle

  1. Just beautiful. I’m speaking of the prayer. I came from an abusive childhood, so I know the pain that to this day I do carry. I had to work many years through the dysfunction and again, to this day, still do. Bless your for your ministry!! Love, Amy ❤

    • Thanks Amy. I understand what you are saying. My children are having to learn how to deal with their dad and his abuse while continuing to pray for him. No one should be abused! Much love to you!!

      • Awe… You are so sweet. Thank you so much, Amy. I praise God for protecting me and my children over the years. It has gotten easier as they have gotten older but it still breaks a mom’s heart to hear their child cry because of the abusive treatment of someone who should still be loving and nurturing, not criticizing and tearing down. But all that we can do is pray. Many, many blessings to you, my sweet sister!

    • Thanks for your encouraging words. It is so sad to watch as our children struggle with learning how to deal with a parent’s narcissistic tendencies. They eventually have to choose when and if they want to be in their presence as they learn boundaries and juggle honoring them.

  2. Pingback: My Article Read (11-30-2015) | My Daily Musing

  3. ….and my ex-husband asked me just last night on the phone why the son that I have living with me refuses to call him?? (he like the rest of us – has heard and endured plenty) I pray constantly for the other precious child that lives with him. It breaks my heart….I’m trusting God, but in this time of learning and healing, I’ve learned there has been more than one narcissist in my life. Until a few years ago, I didn’t even know what the word meant.

    • I can totally relate to every word. I also did not know what narcissist meant… but then I did not realize that I was abused either. We had all accepted it as normal behavior and the cycle of abuse was to continue… until God got “a-hold” of me and my children. Now they can see the lies, deception, and manipulation of their dad. They see his anger and have avoided him many times. But they still try to “honor” him while praying for God to change Him.My response to my daughter that day when she was crying was that we could not change him but we could keep praying for him. I will be praying for you and your children. I know that what God did for my children and I, He can and will do for many others.

      • Thank you for your words. If I did not have my faith, I’m not sure I could survive this. I have a sense of peace that God has this…although I don’t know what the outcome will be. I just pray for my sons safety – I failed to mention – our dog we were able to rescue recently – he had a medical issue played down by my ex – my other two children rescued him, he died two days later – and my daughter is vet tech and the vet said it was definite neglect. I may have mentioned this….when we saw this dog that he supposedly loved and kept and his lack of care…it frightened me. My son has revealed things …that were addressed by the school to the ex. He corrected them….but still. I know he has another caregiver ..his grandmother and to my knowledge and because she took me to most of my cancer treatments years ago..I believe he is in safe hands when he is with her. I trust God to reveal otherwise. Thank you for your prayers and for sharing your story. Your story is both sad, terrifying, happy and inspiring…please keep sharing…God bless you!

      • I understand your concern for your son and about the neglect of his dog. Neglecting a pet is an indicator of what lies deep in a person’s heart. How can someone be cruel to a family pet who are like your children. I pray that your child’s grandmother will make sure that he is taken care of and protected. We have to remember that God is faithful. He takes care of the things that we entrust to Him… and that includes our children.
        I really appreciate your encouraging words about my story. I did not realize or remember that you had read my book. As you can see from my book, God will take care of you as you hold onto Him. He is no respecter of persons and what He did for me and my children, He can and will do for you and many more.
        Many blessings to you, sweet sister!!

  4. Pingback: Children of a Narcissist Struggle | Madison Elizabeth Baylis

Leave a Reply

