Inspirational Song and A Message For Victims of Abuse: Touch The Sky

This song touched my heart this weekend and I want to share it with you today. I experienced this emotional moment with my children as I thanked God for what He has done for us and listened to this song… and I dedicate this song to all other victims of abuse.

As I was looking up at the clear sky
with the moon and stars glowing in their place,
this beautiful song started to play
and the tears began to flow down my face.
For I was at that very moment
thanking God for what He has done
for my children and I have been rescued
when my submitting to Him had begun.
For we came from an abusive background
and lived with abuses every day
mixed with intoxicated responses
with the alcoholic beverage of the day.
And though I prayed day after day
for the abuse and drinking to stop somehow,
it was not till I laid down my life
that God brought us to were we are now.
And as I prayed for God’s will to be done
He removed my children and I from the abuse.
But it was not what I prayed for
cause with a choice I may have refused.
But it was for God’s plan for our lives
that I had finally submitted to.
And though mixed with heartache and devastation
from the ashes He has made us new.
For my children and I are rising from our past
to overcome the abuses we lived around
and can tell you all that these words are true…
“I found my life when I laid it down.”
So pray for God’s will in your life…
and lay all your own desires down…
for He loves the humble and broken…
and with abuse these are all found.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2015.

***

“Touch the Sky” by Hillsong

What fortune lies beyond the stars
Those dazzling heights too vast to climb
I got so high to fall so far
But I found heaven as love swept low

My heart beating, my soul breathing
I found my life when I laid it down
Upward falling, spirit soaring
I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

What treasure waits within Your scars
This gift of freedom gold can’t buy
I bought the world and sold my heart
You traded heaven to have me again

My heart beating, my soul breathing
I found my life when I laid it down
Upward falling, spirit soaring
I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

Find me here at Your feet again
Everything I am, reaching out, I surrender
Come sweep me up in Your love again
And my soul will dance
On the wings of forever

Find me here at Your feet again
Everything I am, reaching out, I surrender
Come sweep me up in Your love again
And my soul will dance
On the wings of forever

My heart beating, my soul breathing
I found my life when I laid it down
Upward falling, spirit soaring
I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

My heart beating, my soul breathing
I found my life when I laid it down
Upward falling, spirit soaring
I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

Find me here at Your feet again
Everything I am, reaching out I surrender
Come sweep me up in Your love again
And my soul will dance
On the wings of forever

10 thoughts on “Inspirational Song and A Message For Victims of Abuse: Touch The Sky

  1. Our lives begin and troubles slow when we can truly say we surrender our lives to Him. This is a goal I work towards more and more as I want to be more like my Savior. To rid myself of myself and be a new person wrapped up in the love of the Lord. A very good post Angel and thanks for your work with the abused people out there…it is an important endeavor!

    Merry Christmas to you!!

    Steve

  2. Pingback: My Article Read (12-22-2015) | My Daily Musing

  3. I love that song by hillside more now that I actually read the lyrics. So beautiful!
    This post is just so so full of hope for those that have or are dealing with any kind of abuse. Amazingly encouraging 💜💜

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging words. I agree with you about the lyrics. Sometimes it takes reading them for the depth of the meaning to touch our hearts. I love the music but those words are so powerful. “I found my life when I laid it down” is exactly what happened to me and I pray that many more victims will reach out to Him and be rescued from abuse. Many, many blessings to you for a very Happy New Year.!

Leave a Reply

