The Walking Wounded– Chapter Two (The WW Give-Away Continues)

Today we continue the weekly postings with excerpts or summaries of each chapter of The Walking Wounded in celebration of it’s Participant’s Manual being recently released for group study.  This will be followed by a “give-away” of a combination of The Walking Wounded: The Path From Brokenness to Wholeness and The WW Participant’s Manual in a drawing which will include the names of all who comment and contribute their thoughts and even their own testimony of brokenness to wholeness. Please join us on this journey…

 

CHAPTER TWO
The Years of Innocence
___________________

The years of innocence are the first few years of a child’s life where
they learn everything, whether good or bad. They are like sponges,
soaking up everything. Most parents try to protect their children from
physical injury, but they don’t realize the harm that is caused by some
of their words or actions. These are portals of entry for what
is right or wrong.

Though I was born into a “normal” family, I was one of these
young, innocent victims. I was the family introvert. Feelings of insecurity,
inadequacy, and low self-esteem started as a child and led to feeling
unloved and rejected. The beginning of my downfall…

12 thoughts on “The Walking Wounded– Chapter Two (The WW Give-Away Continues)

  1. I don’t remember when I began walking on eggshells, but it was around five years of age. I never knew what would send my unpredictable father into an episode of physical or verbal rage. I know that insecurity well.

    Thankfully I now know my true Father; the One who loves me radically and unconditionally. The One who offers generous grace. The One who calls me to His embrace simply because I am His beloved daughter.

    • Amen!!! He is a good, good Father!! So many of us have had earthly fathers who have fallen short of what God intended… but He heals, restores, and totally redeems as we hold onto Him and call Him, “Daddy!!” He’s got a big lap for all of us. God bless you, my sister!!!

  2. It is so true….and I had a wonderful family – great parents, yet both of my parents were born into alcoholic families of which at that time in history – they didn’t talk about it much, only whispers among those who knew or suspected and no counseling. My parents both have had their own struggles because of what they endured and yes, passed on a few things and words…and my own beginnings as a young girl echo yours in some ways..”Feelings of insecurity, inadequacy, and low self-esteem started as a child and led to feeling unloved and rejected.”

    I spent many years striving to be perfect and feeling that I never measured up. This continued well into my adulthood when I married into the same pattern of hurtful words and never feeling I measured up as a spouse, friend or other. I have learned so much on the other side of an abusive marriage and that my choices had roots in my childhood. I have made my own mistakes as a parent, but thankfully…I am now aware…

    • I can totally relate to those struggles to be perfect in an imperfect world. Trying to please everyone… but ourselves. Accepting all the negative about us and falling into a lifelong pattern of the same while we pay the price by becoming broken. Our stories sound very similar. I don’t know if you have read my book yet but hope that one day you will.

      • I was just writing a new piece about things people had spoken directly to me and to my heart from a distance….and wanted to tell you thank you for your presence as well….I have not read your book yet admittedly….but I would love to….I’m sure …it is a beautiful read!

      • Thanks for your encouraging words. God is so amazing. All things come to pass in His timing. I look forward to the day when you read it and hear what you have to say. God bless you, my sister!

Leave a Reply

