Is Your “Rudder” Leading You To The “Gutter”?

Too many people, including “Christians”, do not understand the Power of the spoken word. They continually speak “death” over their lives, destroying their hopes and dreams for a better tomorrow. Their negative words steer their lives into brokenness instead of the blessings that God has for them. So think about it! Is your “rudder” leading you to the “gutter”? Be attentive to the words coming out of your mouth and just see in which direction they would lead… positive or negative.

Is your “rudder” leading you to the “gutter”?
is the question that I just thought…
as I remember the negative words spoken…
and the brokenness that some bought.
For words like “I can’t” and “it’ll never”…
just lead many to fail…
as they speak defeat into their lives…
like a boat with a broken sail.
For your tongue is like a rudder…
that carefully steers a huge ship…
so is it leading you to safety…
or into danger where hulls rip.
Now I have heard the negative…
that so many have spoken…
and the power of these words…
have lead many to be broken.
So be careful what you say…
whether blessings or curses on others…
for this continuous negativism…
is not fair to your sisters and brothers.
For with each negative word spoken…
into another person’s life…
brings a “ripple-effect” of heartache…
as they face more battles and strife.
So hold every word captive…
and taste it before it’s released…
will it bring blessings…
or cause dreams to be deceased?
Let’s rebuke all the negative…

and with God’s help transform…
to speak only positive words…
and watch blessings be your norm.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2016.

“When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go.Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts.” James 3:3-5

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5

Dear Lord, purify our hearts so that our words, thoughts, deeds will be pure and pleasing to You. Set us free from the negativism that is abundant and leading many futures into the depths of despair. Transform lives so that they will see their “glass half full” instead of “half empty.” That they will see the positive in all things and speak life instead of death to themselves and their families and friends… in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

18 thoughts on “Is Your “Rudder” Leading You To The “Gutter”?

    • So true! And so many just do not get it and continually speak negative in their lives with words that should not be spoken. Now that question came to me after hearing someone speak very negative to me. We can’t let someone pull us down in the gutter with them either. We need to rebuke all negative spoken and reach for the blessings that come as God’s children. Thanks for all of your support!!

  1. ….so very true….I’ve learned to praise God in the midst of the storm…and for the storm…for the great things….but again..even the storm…and what happens to my heart and attitude is amazing….I wrote years ago…”Gratitude is the window for love to enter” …It’s something…that I had even forgotten my own written words in the midst of lifes’ storms….Thank you for reminding me. I enjoyed this …

    • Yes, we need to praise Him in the midst of the storm and for the storm. I remember once writing that you know that you are totally healed and have forgiven your abuser when you can thank them for being the catalyst that threw you into our Heavenly Father’s arms. Praise God for His loving grace and mercy!

      • Wow….your words…”thank them for being the catalyst that threw you into our Heavenly Father’s arms. Praise God for His loving grace and mercy!” That is so true…and I’ve found that there is even love in my heart for them…so healing has really taken place….peace which transcends all understanding….but wow…the word Catalyst jumped out at me…I recently had a biz coach in her assessment with me say to me…she could feel strongly that I was a catalyst for change….perhaps…I left something positive behind for those persons in my life as well… 🙂

      • I am so glad that God touched your heart through that word. We all need something in our lives to turn us to the Lord… some go willingly and gently then others of us get thrown there screaming and shouting. What’s important is the end result… Finding God and overcoming through The Blood of the Lamb. God bless you, sister!

      • Oh there have been moments I’m sure that I’ve gone kicking and screaming..sometimes willingly…but today..as I was in bed not feeling well – a friend called at the exact time I needed someone – only she needed me…rushing her mother to the ER…It caused me or rather (God did) to get out of bed…and take the focus off of self…chills and all and go and do for another..I’m feeling better this evening…God is amazing… 🙂 Thank you for your response… You are so very inspiring.

      • Awe… God is so good. He knows exactly what we need… even when we don’t realize… and sends His angels in various forms. I am so glad that you are feeling better. God bless you, my sister!

  2. Pingback: Is Your “Rudder” Leading You To The “Gutter”? | justiceforkevinandjenveybaylis

Leave a Reply

