The Eye of the Storm

As bad weather and personal storms in our lives occur more and more,
we need to remember where the Peace is and keep our eyes on Him.

The Eye of the Storm

As a major hurricane
goes round and round,

so do the storms of life
with problems abound.

Verbal abuse, emotional abuse,
sexual abuse, and more…

All of these abuses
we’ve come to deplore.

Let’s not forget physical abuse,
child abuse and exploitation…

or bullying, workplace abuse
and its hidden retaliation!

All of these abuses
in life are so unfair.

But God sees all
and He is totally aware.

And like the “Eye of the Storm”,
always peaceful and calm.

God’s presence in these storms
is like a healing balm.

For the steady Peace
in all life’s storms is He…

Holding onto God
in these storms is the Key!

For in a simple statement,
the storm must cease…

For in His Power, He declares,
“Be still! Peace!”

So, no matter what storm
lies ahead…

We should hold on
to the Peace instead.

Holding on to God
should be our norm.

For God is the Key
in the “Eye of the Storm!”

Source: Poem: The Eye of the Storm

19 thoughts on “The Eye of the Storm

  1. And where is He while all this abuse is happening? Is He wiping away our tears? Is He holding our hands? Is He speaking softly to us while we are trembling with fear?
    I think not.

    • Hi Laurel! I can totally understand how you feel. As I read your comment, this scripture came to my mind…”At about three o’clock, Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” which means “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?” (Matthew 27:46) You see, even Christ felt abandoned by God before He died on the cross… so you are in good Company. God knows how you feel and why you feel that way. He is just patiently waiting for you just like He waited for me and many others. I will continue to pray for you and the many victims who have been hurt by the abuses in this world.

      • I know that scripture well. I knew it as “why hath thou forsaken me?” I was raised on the Bible and used to be very religious. I am still a God-fearing person but after a life-time of nothing but grief and sorrow, I’m just a little bit pissed at Him.
        Maybe I should have forgiven my ex. He did once call himself God.

      • I really understand! God knows that you are mad and it’s OK. His Grace and mercy are sufficient! Yes, that scripture tells how Christ was feeling that day. We are no greater than He. God never promised that we would not suffer… but He turns it all around for good for those who love Him and are called according to His purposes. He is calling on many who have been abused in various ways to reach out to others. Your testimony will help others.

      • Laurel, the scripture that came to my mind was Isaiah 55:8… “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor your ways, My ways.” God’s way is different but when we think about it, most of us don’t even think about God when everything in our lives is going great. I know that I didn’t. It is only when we are so broken by the wrongs in this world that we truly give our lives to Him. He wants all of us… not just a “Sunday morning” encounter sitting in a pew. He wants a relationship with us. He wants to be our Friend. And even though He does not promise us that it will be easy, He promises that He will help us along the way… the Peace in the eye of the storm. God bless you, my sister!!

      • You have an interesting point but I was the opposite…when things were going “good”, I was mindful of God. I always “thanked” Him….now….nope….don’t curse Him…but don’t offer any thanks for giving me one of the most miserable resistances on earth.

      • What you have experienced is a spiritual abuse by your ex…amongst other abuses. When we are so wounded by those who we loved and trusted, we last out in anger at those who are near… and God has never left your side. He knows your pain and sees your wounds. But His Grace and mercy are sufficient. He is not angry at you for lashing out at Him. He is big enough to handle it. He is just waiting for you to open your heart again to Him.

      • The Word also says, “I will fight for you… you need only be still.” I have struggled with this also because we all want to take care of things in our own way.

      • Oh, sounds so familiar. I remember similar words from myself… until I realized that I wanted God’s blessings upon me more than I wanted God’s wrath upon him. We can’t have it both ways. We always have a choice.

      • You have been so wounded that you only see through pain. My heart goes out to you for the pain that you have endured. I pray that God will bring healing and restoration to you.

  2. Reblogged this on Armor Of God Foundation and commented:
    As bad weather and personal storms in our lives occur more and more,
    we need to remember where the Peace is and keep our eyes on Him.

    The Eye of the Storm

    As a major hurricane
    goes round and round,
    so do the storms of life
    with problems abound.
    Verbal abuse, emotional abuse,
    sexual abuse, and more…
    All of these abuses
    we’ve come to deplore.
    Let’s not forget physical abuse,
    child abuse and exploitation…
    or bullying, workplace abuse
    and its hidden retaliation!
    All of these abuses
    in life are so unfair.
    But God sees all
    and He is totally aware.
    And like the “Eye of the Storm”,
    always peaceful and calm.
    God’s presence in these storms
    is like a healing balm.
    For the steady Peace
    in all life’s storms is He…
    Holding onto God
    in these storms is the Key!
    For in a simple statement,
    the storm must cease…
    For in His Power, He declares,
    “Be still! Peace!”
    So, no matter what storm
    lies ahead…
    We should hold on
    to the Peace instead.
    Holding on to God
    should be our norm.
    For God is the Key
    in the “Eye of the Storm!”

  3. Pingback: The Eye of the Storm | justiceforkevinandjenveybaylis

  4. Pingback: The Eye of the Storm | Armor Of God Foundation

Leave a Reply

