My God! My God! Why Have You Forsaken Me?

This is for the many who find themselves crying out to God in their moments of despair and brokenness. He is always near… but His ways are not our ways. We just need to trust Him.

My God! My God!
Why have You forsaken me?
is what many of us cry out…
when God’s Hand we can’t feel or see.
For we try to walk in obedience…
of what we see and hear…
then bad things just seem to happen…
and we question if God is really near.
But God allows us to be sifted…
like Simon Peter was many years ago.
And Job lost his entire family…
while under a test which he did not know.
So how do we know if our loss…
was really only just a test…
to rise above our circumstances…
having faith in God to provide the best.
Will we mumble and complain…
and even try to shift the blame.
Or will we go into a deep depression…
overcome by pain, guilt, or shame.
Well God wants neither…
but for us to just keep our eyes on He…
for to overcome any trauma…
He alone is the Key!
Not to look to the left or the right…
but to keep our focus on Him…
for it’s only in His Presence…
that true healing and restoration can begin.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2016.

“My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?
Why are You so far from helping Me!” Psalm 22:1

“Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat.  But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.” Luke 22:31-32

8 thoughts on “My God! My God! Why Have You Forsaken Me?

  1. Your poem is so very beautiful and inspiring…thanks for the smile that was given birth on my face dear sister…know you are always loved by myself. May God continue to bless others with seeds of knowledge to help their spirits grow, keeping them from becoming spiritually bankrupt. Here is a poem to bring you to smile…you are always in my prayers!

    Many Reasons

    You are the light that
    shines within, brighter
    than the sun at dawn

    You are the one who I
    can love and always know
    my choice is never wrong

    You are the reason
    within my heart
    I am never really sad

    For you Lord have given
    me “many reasons”why
    my spirit shall always stay
    glad.

    Have a beautifully blessed day!

    • Awe… That is so beautiful! You also put a big smile on my face. And my dear brother, your encouraging words mean more to me than you can ever imagine. We never want to do “dead works” and never know if the words that we write touch the hearts and souls of those in need. Thank you so much Wendell!! May God pour out His blessings upon you and your family!! Much Love and hugs coming your way!!

  2. Pingback: My God! My God! Why Have You Forsaken Me? — The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel | Madison Elizabeth Baylis

Leave a Reply

