DV Awareness Day #5: TRIGGERS Are Real

Image result for abuse triggers

Too many people do not understand the effects of abuse and trauma on it’s victims. The triggers that remain are very real and can be debilitating to it’s victims. (See the attached blog postings)

TRIGGERS are real…
with painful memories of the past…
with fear and panic that arise…
like the blow of a shotgun blast.
But too many don’t understand…
for they have not walked in our shoes..
so they can’t even comprehend…
cause they may never have been abused.
But those who have experienced it…
know their triggers and it’s effect…
for C-PTSD in abuse victims…
is more common than most expect.
But more often than not…
victims are made to feel “crazy”…
because of fear and panic that arise…
though triggers to most seem hazy.
For it may be a simple picture…
or something moved from it’s normal place…
though not noticed by others…
it’s a reminder of the abusers we faced.
Or a moving shadow or a sound…
like someone lurking in the night…
though most don’t even notice…
it triggers heightened levels of fright.
For most victims have been threatened…
that their abusers will strike again…
so they are on constant alert…
feeling that this fear will never end.
So let’s help victims of abuse…
and pray for their safety and healing…
because they have endured much suffering…
and with it’s effects they’re still dealing.
For it’s a daily progressive walk…
to overcome the abuses of our pasts…
and I pray for every victim out there…
that these triggers will no longer last.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2016.

*******

PTSD: When the Simplest Things Make For a Traumatic Day

Doing okay….then triggers occur…..and everything is

PTSD

Triggers

19 thoughts on “DV Awareness Day #5: TRIGGERS Are Real

  1. Pingback: DV Awareness Day #5: TRIGGERS Are Real — The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel | Talmidimblogging

  2. Very nice post and so true. We cannot help what triggers us we just know that it does. I am still finding new triggers all the time. From mens cologne to children playing, triggers can be anything that reminds us of the past. People just do not understand.

    • You are so right! People just do not understand. Too many do not even realize that abuse victims can have PTSD and then the victims have been made to feel “crazy” for it… but we are not. Thanks for your encouraging words. I pray that the triggers that you experience will dissipate and never bother you again… God bless you!!

  3. Pingback: DV Awareness Day #5: TRIGGERS Are Real | Madison Elizabeth Baylis

  4. Reblogged this on Financial Abuse is Domestic Violence and commented:
    I wanted to reblog this post because as a survivor I have many triggers. One trigger that I had was hearing the garage door going up or down. When my husband was here I knew that when I heard that door go up that meant he was home and the terror began. So for a while every time that door moved I was triggered. But one day I shared my fear of the garage door on Twitter and Tamara Bess LMFT saw it and sent me a link to one of her post on triggers. Her act of kindness helped me tremendously and I am no longer triggered by the sound of the garage door. I replaced the feeling of fear by redirecting my thought at that very moment with a good memory, a memory and feeling from a happier event. So every time I heard that door go up I thought of the happy thought. & abra cadabra it worked. I’m no longer triggered by that door.
    I’m saying all this to say even after we leave our abusers we still carry with us triggers, fears and many different challenges on the road to healing.
    I ask everyone to do what you can know matter how small to help out survivors of any abuse.
    I want to send a heartfelt thanks to Tamara Bess LMFT for her act of kindness that helped this survivor make a giant step toward healing.
    And to SecretAngel for creating the original blog that prompted me to share a bit of my story with others.
    What I’ve learned is that we are on this earth to do Gods work and when we each do what we can for someone else we are Him.
    That’s one of the greatest lessons I’ve learned.
    Okay, I’m out.
    Please excuse all errors grammatical or any others. I’m working on that part of me too.

    • Amen, amen, and amen!! We are on this earth to do His Work. We we finally realize that it’s all about Him, not about us, our lives will be changed. I praise God for the transformation that is occurring in your life. Your strength and path to overcoming is so evident. We serve an awesome God, my sweet sister. Thank you for the encouraging words. You are a blessing to me!! God bless you!!

  5. Hey, Lady J! Thank you so much for your lovely comments about that day I saw your tweet! I’m thrilled that it helped! That post can be found at: http://2btru2you.com/2016/03/23/ptsd-trauma-brain/ Thank you so much for sharing!
    I just started a closed support group for women on FB (https://www.facebook.com/groups/2btru2youSupport/)
    Tamara Bess, LMFT
    http://www.2btru2you.com
    http://www.CenterForHealthyRelationshipsLA.org
    (Offering local services in South Pasadena, CA and Online therapy for California residents)

    • Hi Tamara! Thanks for stopping by but I am not Lady J. Don’t know if there is some confusion but I am very glad to see that you have a support group to help victims of abuse. May God bless you, exceedingly and abundantly.

      • Thanks, SecretAngel. I’ll go back and find her . . . . She said she was reblogging your post and mentioned me in her comment. So easy to get lost in cyberspace sometimes! 😉

Leave a Reply

