November 17th– World Prematurity Day (Trigger Warning)

Image result for national prematurity day

I saw this announcement today, “November 17th– World Prematurity Day”
and though I did not know it existed, there are a few words I want to say.

One in ten babies
are born premature
weeks before their due date…
or it could even be more.
And the parents are fearful…
as their tiny baby struggles to survive…
but they are also happy and excited…
for their little “preemie” is still alive.
Not much bigger than an adult hand…
with little fingers that wiggle and grope…
any little sign of improvement…
gives parents boosts of renewed hope.
But many think they are just a “fetus”…
and not even a “baby” yet…
but I ask you to look at this picture…
for it is one that I will never forget.
A tiny hand protruding from a womb…
as a neonatal surgeon does a spinal repair
only to grasp the surgeon’s finger…
like to say,”Thank you. I know you care.”
And I remember when this picture was released…
and how the surgeon said that he even cried.
So it breaks my heart for those aborted…
for in a traumatic way many have died.
So let’s pray for all babies…
that they’ll be loved and nurtured each day…
and for the parents and families…
who have various struggles along the way.
And let’s pray for these preemies…
that they’ll grow bigger and stronger each day…
with healing and restoration…
and for God’s blessings upon each we pray.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2016.

Image result for baby in utereo holds doctor's hand

6 thoughts on “November 17th– World Prematurity Day (Trigger Warning)

    • Amy Rose, I am so sorry that this posting was difficult for you. I felt that I was to put a “trigger warning” on it because so many women have suffered through miscarriages and the loss of their precious children. I pray that you are OK. God bless you!!

Leave a Reply

