A Poem for Victims: Lingering Triggers (Psalm 107:19)

This is for the many who have suffered abuse and suffer triggers from PTSD. These triggers are real and the memories are painful. I pray for healing and restoration for all victims of abuse.

Memories! Oh, those memories…
triggering responses from the mind.
Like feeling your abuser,
coming up from behind.

Like a single word,
whispered in a threat.
Like a string of curses,
yelled with “you’ll regret”.

Memories! Oh, these memories…
how we long to forget..
they keep triggering responses,
breaking us out in sweat.

Like a threat with a gun,
saying “one day you’ll be dead”.
Those words still linger,
filling victims with dread.

Memories! Oh, those memories…
of someone we once held dear.
Now they are triggers,
with us responding in fear.

Crying or nervous
or shaking in fear…
Responses are triggered,
like the abuser is near.

Memories! Oh, these memories…
of abuse in the past…
Keep triggering responses,
like the abuse still lasts.

Triggers! Oh triggers…
please, please go away!
So memories will be peaceful,
and just plain memories one day.

Jesus! Oh, Jesus!
Heal us all I pray!
So no more distress,
will come our way!

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2013.

“Lord, help!” they cried in their trouble,
and He saved them from their distress.” Psalm 107:19 (NLT)

Source: A Poem for Victims: Lingering Triggers (Psalm 107:19)

18 thoughts on “A Poem for Victims: Lingering Triggers (Psalm 107:19)

  1. Pingback: A Poem for Victims: Lingering Triggers (Psalm 107:19) | Madison Elizabeth Baylis

  2. Pingback: A Poem for Victims: Lingering Triggers (Psalm 107:19) | Faithful Steward Ministries and FSM Women's Outreach

  3. This one is very good, Angel. It creates pictures in our minds of the horrible existence of abusive behavior. Well done…

    Steve

  4. My angel, you know I love you dearly! Your message is wonderful and moving, it brings tears to my eyes and I know there is some who it will help as they read your words. Here is one, that I wrote which reminds me of your words, and since we are spiritual twins I thought I would share it. I can hear you pray a similar prayer. Merry Christmas to you my beloved sister.

    “The Seeds Of Your Love

    I thank you for the words each day
    that you place within my mind
    I often wonder as I write them down
    If they will touch another deep inside

    For I know that there are others
    who receive some words just as I do
    other beggars who are found wanting
    only to give their service to you

    In these times where information reaches
    so many who are alive within this world
    those single words of substance can become
    to many lost souls a treasured pearl

    And it is simply more than a pleasure Lord
    having you use my heart and mind each day
    to place in another’s heart sweet treasures
    leading them gently my lord your way

    to receive your blessing of lasting peace.

    Hugs and blessings always!

Leave a Reply

