“Be Not Drunk”… A Message About Drinking Alcohol

Image result for holy spirit filled

As a Christian, I have been asked this question many times about drinking alcohol. As I was writing this posting, I also found this video that explains it in more depth. Now, I have included part of my story in this poem.. the rest of the story can be found in “The Walking Wounded.”

“Do you drink?”…
is a question I’ve repeatedly been asked.
Then when I reply “No”…
more questions then come even more fast.
“Do you think it’s a sin to drink?”
“Do you look down on others who do?”
Well, I only tell you my reasoning…
then you can evaluate your own heart too.
I answer it first by what scripture says…
for Jesus’ first miracle was to turn water to wine.
But the word also says “be not drunk”
and abusing alcohol is what I too often find.
For Jesus obviously drank wine…
so it’s not a sin to drink alcohol…
but getting drunk is a different story…
and has led to many people’s fall.
Now my own personal feeling about alcohol…
is how my own story begins…
for consumption was in the beginning of marriage…
and part of the trauma which brought it to an end.
For excessive alcohol consumption…
lowers one’s tolerance levels…
and it was in drunken stupors and rages…
that I thought I was married to several devils.
For in drunken stupors…
he could not even be awakened…
then as anger increased with each drink…
his violent side could not be mistaken.
Now my children and I fled one day…
when he was angry and was coming to kill me…
for we all heard the threats…
and fled the area for our safety.
For we had seen his violence…
and knew he had an arsenal of guns.
And being an ex-cop with friends…
we felt we had no choice but to run.
For the police had already been called…
and had already told me to leave him alone…
when I was truly the victim…
but his narcissism to them was not known.
For what is hidden behind closed doors…
includes abuse and violence in different levels…
but I will never let alcohol back in my life…
for I have experienced the attacks of Satan’s devils.
For alcohol lowers awareness…
and Satan will use any one that he can…
so that is why I no longer drink…
and hope that others will understand.
And though drinking or not drinking…
is a personal choice for all…
I will no longer allow it in my life…
for speaking out against abuse is part of my call.

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2017.

“Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is. And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit.” Ephesians 5:17-18

Dear Heavenly Father,  only You have seen the multitude who have become drunken with large consumption of alcohol… and the countless victims of abuse at the hands of drunken people.  We pray for deliverance for all those in need from the clutches of alcohol. We pray for healing and restoration for families that have suffered through alcoholism. We pray that eyes will be opened to see the devastating effects of over-consumption of alcoholic beverages with the lust, sexual immorality,  abuse, and violence that tend to be breed in these areas. And we pray that people will come to understand Your Word and the reason for Your Word “Be Not Drunk”… and walk in righteousness with You, choosing to only be “drunk in The Spirit” with You… in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

5 thoughts on ““Be Not Drunk”… A Message About Drinking Alcohol

  1. Alcohol is such a tender subject for so many. I really like the video, and the point that each person must approach the issue of alcohol from their individual circumstances. Coming from generational alcoholism myself, I have always been very cautious with alcohol. There’s nothing like Southern fruit tea anyway-no alcohol needed!

Leave a Reply

