Did God Cause My Abuse for My Good? by Ashley Easter

Purposefully Scarred

Sometimes the sentiment is subtle, sometimes it is overt: Your abuse was God’s will, a part of His good plan, for your good and His glory.Whether this idea comes from a theological framework that declares God sovereignly ordained the experience in your life in accordance with His plan or whether it is a friend who…

via Did God Cause My Abuse For My Good? — Blog – Ashley Easter

I am sharing this post written by my dear friend and fellow advocate, Ashley, because she did a great job answering an extremely important question.

If you know the story of Joseph from the Old Testament (Genesis 37-50), he is often used as the prime example. At the end of the story, he says to the brothers who left him for dead and then sold him into slavery, “What you meant for evil, God meant for good”. People have interpreted that to…

View original post 658 more words

15 thoughts on “Did God Cause My Abuse for My Good? by Ashley Easter

  1. Great article. We can get all confused sometimes about the way he will hand us beauty for our ashes,and work for good all things for those who are called according to His purpose. That’s the light at the end of the tunnel, not to be confused with the train that came down the tracks. God heals and He wants good things for us.

  2. I’m glad you shared this… so perfect… I happened to be thinking on this a lot this past week… not only that but this all over the web, “you were given this life because you’re strong enough to live it” That doesn’t encourage me… I feel like God will give me strength to live it but He didn’t give me it, sinful man gave me the abusive life not God… (If I am taking that quote the wrong way, please show me… but in context of this post I felt it this way… ) Curious what your thoughts are on that?

    • Exactly! God does not cause the bad things to happen. Sin causes it, whether in our lives or in our bloodlines. God is just always there to pick up the pieces. God bless you, kpaol!

    • Father never intended you to be strong enough to live it kp, he intended you to live out of His strength for you. Father doesn’t cause abuse or bad things but he does allow things bigger than we can handle on our own because He knows He is big enough and every moment of our brokenness is a moment of opportunity to experience the sufficiency of his grace for us ❤ I'm not saying God is up there letting bad things happen to you to make himself look good, but bad things are happening and at rock bottom is where I found out he is the Rock at rock-bottom. He didn’t create us to be self-sufficient and that’s where the self-empowerment line of that old tree of ‘kmowledge’ goes off because we really aren’t strong enough for separation from our Father…and he loves us too much to let us keep the allusion that we are. Problems…pain…suffering. But at the bottom of it all, he’s there saying ‘It’s okay, we’ll get through this together’ ❤ (:

      • Perfectly spoken! That is exactly where most of us find Him… at rock bottom… when in our brokenness, we realize our need for Him as our Source of Strength, our Source of Life, for every single breath comes from Him and without Him, we can no longer go on… It takes getting that broken to get go of the world and hold onto Him. Thanks for commenting, Carson! Many, many blessings to you!!

      • Ohh, thank you for sharing this with me…. I know what you mean… I need to meditate on this… get it to my heart again… I needed this 💟

      • ❤ The good news is it's in your heart already, it's in the deepest part of us to be one with Father (: all we have to do now is, rediscover the reality of Him in us and us in Him.

        Happy Teusday (:

      • She did a wonderful job on it. Too many people blame God for the bad things that happen to them. I pray that they will realize the truth and hold onto our Lord for He is the Key to overcome all traumas in this world.

        I don’t know if you read this other posting, but I wrote it as those words came to me… “What the enemy meant for harm…”
        https://secretangelps911.wordpress.com/2017/08/10/what-the-enemy-meant-for-harm/
        Please join me in prayer for all victims of abuse. God can turn all things around. God bless you, my brother!!

Leave a Reply

